Thread poster: Sara Canullo
Sara Canullo
Sara Canullo
United Kingdom
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 8, 2013

Hello all,

I used to be a full time freelance translator in Italy a few years ago. I now live in the Uk again and started doing some bits and pieces of freelance on top of my full time job. Does anyone know how taxes work if I am freelancing on top of working full time. I understand that I will have to do a self - assessment in January?

Thank you for your help

Sara

Stefania Greci
Stefania Greci  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:12
English to Italian
+ ...
HMRC Website Nov 8, 2013

Hi Sara,
fortunately the system in the UK is much easier than the one in Italy.

I was in a similar situation some time ago and I had a part-time job and a freelance income.

At the end of the financial year you will sum up your income and only pay taxes if you go above a certain threshold, not sure how much it's this year.

You will find a lot of useful information on the Inland Revenue website (self-em
... See more
Hi Sara,
fortunately the system in the UK is much easier than the one in Italy.

I was in a similar situation some time ago and I had a part-time job and a freelance income.

At the end of the financial year you will sum up your income and only pay taxes if you go above a certain threshold, not sure how much it's this year.

You will find a lot of useful information on the Inland Revenue website (self-employed section).

http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/selfemployed/

HMRC also run workshops for people who are just starting as self-employed.

Stefania
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:12
Member (2008)
Italian to English
Yes Nov 8, 2013

scanullo wrote:

Hello all,