Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
What should I do when somebody uses my address on their resume?
Thread poster: Harumi Uemura
Harumi Uemura
Harumi Uemura  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2012)
English to Japanese
+ ...
Nov 10, 2015

I'm an individual freelance translator located in the U.S.
I was recently contacted by one of my clients asking if I had a husband or family member who is also a translator.
Apparently, an individual was using my physical address for his resume.
I am not married and none of my family members are translators. I do not know this person.
My client then forwarded the e-mail containing this person's resume and the residential/business address listed is clearly mine.
All
... See more
I'm an individual freelance translator located in the U.S.
I was recently contacted by one of my clients asking if I had a husband or family member who is also a translator.
Apparently, an individual was using my physical address for his resume.
I am not married and none of my family members are translators. I do not know this person.
My client then forwarded the e-mail containing this person's resume and the residential/business address listed is clearly mine.
All the other information has nothing to do with mine.
What should I do in such a case?

Best Regards,
Collapse

Paulinho Fonseca
Paulinho Fonseca  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 23:05
Member (2011)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
It might end up in a fraudulent act. Nov 10, 2015

If someone is doing that, it might end up in a fraudulent act, bringing more damage. Have you also received any mails to this person? If so, talk to authorities, register the act and take it to the post office informing that person does not live/own your address.

What do you think this person would gain by using your data/address?

Good luck

Harumi Uemura
Harumi Uemura  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2012)
English to Japanese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Thank you Nov 10, 2015