What do you charge for English-German interpreting jobs (simultaneous or consecutive)?
Thread poster: Regina Freitag
Regina Freitag
Regina Freitag  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 20:54
English to German
+ ...
Jul 20, 2023

Dear interpreters,

I've been working for several years as a freelance translator, and recently passed my exam as an interpreter too.
Regarding prices, I checked several sources, but it's such a huge range that I'm not any wiser. I would like to start quoting on one or the other job, but don't want to end up asking the client (in this case a translation agency) what they would consider a proper price. That seems quite unprofessional. lol.
I wonder, is there a reliable pr
... See more
Dear interpreters,

I've been working for several years as a freelance translator, and recently passed my exam as an interpreter too.
Regarding prices, I checked several sources, but it's such a huge range that I'm not any wiser. I would like to start quoting on one or the other job, but don't want to end up asking the client (in this case a translation agency) what they would consider a proper price. That seems quite unprofessional. lol.
I wonder, is there a reliable price list somewhere to refer to, or what do you think is an acceptable price for me as a beginner, both for simuntaneous and consecutive jobs? Do you charge per day or per hour?
Also, I'm curious if you usually work with translation agencies or rather with end clients?
Thank you so much!!!

Kind regards, Regina

[Edited at 2023-07-20 01:27 GMT]
Collapse

Maria G. Grassi, MA AITI
Maria G. Grassi, MA AITI  Identity Verified
Italy
English to Italian
+ ...
Take a look at the Interpreters Pool Jul 20, 2023

Here on ProZ you will find the Interpreters Pool https://www.proz.com/pools/interpreters.
You could take a look there and get an idea of the rates (hourly rates) that colleagues in your language pair charge and what their experience and expertise are.