Thread poster: vitalli
vitalli
vitalli
Türkiye
Turkish to English
+ ...
Sep 24, 2017

Hi!

I'm currently studying Translation BA in Turkey and would like to do a Master's in the UK. I'm interested in Audiovisual Translation and Localisation. I realised that other topics about this subject is quite old, so I would like to ask your opinion on British Translation Master's courses; which courses do you recommend?

The Master's course doesn't really have to cover my interests, though. I'm open to any suggestions.

My native language is Turkish, so I
... See more
Hi!

I'm currently studying Translation BA in Turkey and would like to do a Master's in the UK. I'm interested in Audiovisual Translation and Localisation. I realised that other topics about this subject is quite old, so I would like to ask your opinion on British Translation Master's courses; which courses do you recommend?

The Master's course doesn't really have to cover my interests, though. I'm open to any suggestions.

My native language is Turkish, so I have a list of universities that offer Turkish language:

- The University of Edinburgh
- UCL
- University of Surrey
- The University of Manchester
- City University of London
- Queen's University Belfast
- Cardiff University
- University of East Anglia

Thanks!
Collapse

Joe France
Joe France  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:59
Member (2016)
German to English
+ ...
Courses differ more than you might imagine Sep 25, 2017

Hi Vitalli,

I can't comment too deeply on the courses you've named, but I would advise you to look in much more detail at the syllabi on offer - whether or not they offer audiovisual translation.

For example, I did my MEL undergrad at the Uni of Edinburgh, and considered doing by postgrad degree there as well. However, I opted for Heriot Watt Uni (also in Edinburgh) instead, as the course at Edinburgh Uni seemed quite abstract - like much of Edinburgh Uni, the emphasis
... See more
Hi Vitalli,