Unresponsive client: should I contact them again?
Thread poster: AlessiaDD
AlessiaDD
AlessiaDD
Italy
Local time: 18:26
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 24, 2017

Hi everyone, thank you in advance for your time spent in reading my questions.

I am Alessia, from Italy and I am a newbie here on Proz because my job career was a bit "garbled", informally speaking.
I am very active on an other platform, so I am starting to get some important translation job assignments I am filling my samples portfolio with.

However, I am not so experienced yet so I have a lot of things to learn, mainly in approaching and getting in touch with my
... See more
Hi everyone, thank you in advance for your time spent in reading my questions.

I am Alessia, from Italy and I am a newbie here on Proz because my job career was a bit "garbled", informally speaking.
I am very active on an other platform, so I am starting to get some important translation job assignments I am filling my samples portfolio with.

However, I am not so experienced yet so I have a lot of things to learn, mainly in approaching and getting in touch with my clients and potential ones: I try to explain my questions and concerns.

I thought it was important for my job not to displease the client using rude manners and of course I did not, but sometimes I fell into very bad way of behaving.

Last week one among my previous clients, a China woman I have already worked with and who gave me 5 stars feedback, posted an other job application and so I wrote her saying I was immediately available for it.
She answered she was not sure I was good enough with IT translation jobs (not having any previous complain by her about the same kind of job, I would like to repeate). I kept calm and I answered I understood, and she suddenly change her mind saying I could have the job if I wanted it.
I was so disappointed, I have to confess.